• redboneredbone December 2008
    I just started playing poker online on the partypoker application with my gf (fake money only, I'm too poah for real money), and I don't really have a lot of experience with the game.

Do any of you guys play a lot of poker? Are there any general things I should know about the game (other than the basic rules, I understand that much) or any tips so I don't lose all my money right away?

Whats the best way to learn about the game? Just experience from playing? Should I be watching other people playing, or reading any guides?

I don't really want this forum to be just about teaching me the game, any epic poker experiences are welcome.
  • NonRootNonRoot December 2008
    I use to play about once a week at a friends place for real money. Never really got into the online thing. Its kind of a game where you learn as you go. As long as you know which hands beat the others and you have decent math skills to figure out probability, you should do fine.

Is the online thing a place where others can sign up for free, if so let me know and ill play against you.
  • redboneredbone December 2008
    Yeah you just have to register/create an account and you can play free, starting with 10,000 fake dollars. My screen name is redbone838
  • PheylanPheylan December 2008
    One of the best things to realize is that the more people you have in a game, the better your initial two cards have to be. While with a table of 8 people a pre-flop hand of Q 8 isn't any good, when playing heads up it is much better.

Most of the time, you should be folding more starting hands then playing. Of course, this is dictated by what cards you are being dealt.
  • NonRootNonRoot December 2008
    I dont know, I usually wait until after the flop to fold, though ts probably something that advanced players dont do. Bluffing every now and then is also an adrenaline rush.
  • KPKP December 2008