Mr. Bush Scoffs at your "Geneva convention"
  • NunesNunes April 2008
    So this is a recently unclassified memo detailing our presidents view of the Geneva convention as of February of 2002, just 5 months after we got our shit stomped in by some clever terrorists.

and this is the geneva convention

Whaddya think? Were we justified? Does the convention apply? Remember the convention says: "the present Convention shall apply to all cases of declared war or of any other armed conflict which may arise between two or more of the High Contracting Parties, even if the state of war is not recognized by one of them."
  • Pesky human rights, always getting in the way of that world domination.
  • PheylanPheylan April 2008
    Everything in there that he stated is correct.

I studied this for a semester in International Law, and this kind of thing was pretty much my entire major. As it goes, the Geneva convention doesn't really cover a war similar to what we are fighting now. When it was written, it was under the assumption that it would be two states going to war with each other. In addition, it was under the assumption of clear cut victory and defeat. One state, defeating another state, and each military standing down, similar to Germany in WWII, or the US defeating Iraq and Afghanistan. The current wars aren't fought like that.

If the opposing forces were following the Geneva Convention, it might be different. Even then though, its impossible to classify what the insurgents are. They can't be considered prisoners of war based on the provisions of the Geneva Convention. At the same time, you can't treat them as normal criminals because normal laws don't allow you to detain them in way that is productive in a conflict like this. Not being able to classify them is what leads the administration to call them enemy combatants.

In reality, the convention needs to be amended for a conflict similar to this one.
  • NunesNunes April 2008